Feeling Disconnected

September 30, 2006 at 2:19 am | Posted in Attention Management | Leave a comment

I never quite realized how disconnected I was until I started researching Attention Management. For those who haven’t heard the term, “attention management” refers to the need for people to be more cognizant of and in more control of what they pay attention to. The narrative begins with the harried information worker juggling an increasing flood of emails, instant messages, voicemails, and buzzing devices and ends with how to make your life calmer, be more efficient, make more money, or grab more attention depending on which path you decide to take with it.

I seem to be an unusually disconnected person compared to most I read about. My cellphone is off 99% of the time and I have to think twice to remember my cellphone number. I have no Blackberry or other buzzing, vibrating, or ringing devices. My periodic shifting of email forwarding accounts has kept me from being deluged with spam. And I don’t answer the phone when it rings during dinner. I suppose this is a luxury that I may not be able to hold on to. And who knows what I’ve sacrificed due to my relatively low level of interruptability. I’d better enjoy it while I can.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

