Jeff Pulver Blog-Tag

December 12, 2006 at 1:09 pm | Posted in Gaming, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I have been tagged by Peter O’Kelly as part of the The Jeff Pulver Blog: Blog-Tag: A Game for a Virtual Cocktail Party [I’ve been tagged] to describe five things about me relatively few people know:

  • My first “life” in computers was 5 years in the gaming industry with my friend David Stark. I was author of a few games such as Demon’s Winter (descriptions on ePinions and Moby Games and a German version I’d never seen until just now) and Shard of Spring ( Moby Games).
  • I recorded a heavy metal, double-speed version of Jingle Bells for the Jade Dragon Tattoo Parlor’s Christmas commercial a few years back. I’m a (very) amateur musician. I play blues guitar, studied baroque organ as a non-Major at Indiana University, and wrote an orchestral film score for a short student film.
  • Started programming in 1980 on a Bally Basic cartridge. What kind of programs would a junior high school kid write? Well, one implemented a weighted decision model to decide what to have for dinner. It multiplied the criteria scores by the criteria weights for each dinner option to come up with the best one. Who knew I’d get paid to do that scoring RFPs later in life!
  • I build attractive, yet flimsy furniture. The table looks great and has a drawer for remotes, but no one is allowed to lean on the table!
  • I am addicted to stroopwaflen. It all started when I was in Amsterdam. I was up to 3 stroopwaflen a day before running out of the stash I brought home to the US. If you place them on top of a tea cup, it warms up the cookie and melts the carmel a bit – mmmm.
    Leave a Comment »

    RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

    Leave a Reply

        Blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

