EAM Buzzworthiness

January 11, 2007 at 9:02 am | Posted in Attention Management | Leave a comment

In a recent mention in the ecm blog George Dearing introduces Enterprise Attention Management:

Helping companies manage information is big business. Which means every consultancy, especially the big ones, is jockeying to be seen as the thought leader. And I guess with that thought leadership comes the enviable task of inventing new acronyms. Enter Enterprise Attention Management (EAM).

It’s a good posting on EAM and I’m happy to see it there. It did bring up the issue of buzzworthiness for me though. I’m not against coining a new term when needed, but I think clarity is the #1 priority. Besides, if you invent a new word when existing words will do you look kinda obvious! With EAM I was aiming for clarity, as I described in my comment to ecm blog

I’m glad you like the direction of Enterprise Attention Management. The term “attention management” has been floating around for a while now. I just clarify my take on it as “enterprise” because I studied what enterprises can do about it as a whole rather than individuals or advertisers trying to grab people’s attention. I’m not trying to coin it as a term really – just clarify what type of AM I’m talking about.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

