Update: The Collaboration Business Case: Table of Contents

May 3, 2007 at 4:30 pm | Posted in business case, collaboration | Leave a comment

I’ve just completed a chunk of travel and am diving back into my report on business cases. It was democratically determined by my team that I’ll be focusing on business cases for collaboration (not really in the generic sense, but any number of technologies, projects, or organizational changes related to collaboration that involve technology) rather than KM. That’s fine with me – just as I don’t mean my report to cover collaboration generically, I never meant it to cover KM generically either. My findings will be quite applicable to other discplines that often support KM-type efforts like content management and portal as well.

I thought I’d post up the working outline that I recommend for a business case for collaboration. There’s a lot more detail I’m working on, but here’s how it looks at a high level:

  • Section A: Initiative Data Sheet
    • Basic Data
    • Scope
    • References to Related Business Cases
    • Main contributors to this document
  • Section B: Executive Summary
  • Section C: Business Drivers
    • Business Imperatives (Lean cost structure, Competitiveness, Globalization, Innovation, Responsiveness, Sourcing)
    • Business Drivers / Pain Points (i.e., Co-location, Complexity, Cost reduction, Crisis management, Cross-boundary processes)
  • Section D: Proposed Solution
    • Proposal details
    • Collaboration Capabilities (Brainstorming / swarming, Coordination, Information pooling, Knowledge capture / sharing, Workflow)
    • Metrics and Success Criteria
  • Section E: Analysis
    • Analysis of Past and Present Business Environment and Trends
    • Expected Change in Information Worker Productivity
    • Analysis of End User Enablement
    • Collaboration Maturity Analysis
    • Competitive Analysis
    • Analysis of Past Failures
    • Use Case Analysis
    • Analysis of Alternatives
    • Risk Analysis and Critical Assumptions
    • Financial Analysis

If there are any methods you’ve seen work in business cases that aren’t on here, please drop me a comment and let me know.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

