Smooth Social Interaction With Automated Nagging

November 24, 2008 at 6:22 pm | Posted in Attention Management, communication, Information Work, social software | Leave a comment

In all this talk about aiding social interactions through instant messaging, community posting boards, blogs, and social networking there is one technology that I see missing from the list: a use of technology I’ll call (with tongue firmly planted in cheek) “Notification through Automated Governance” or NAG systems.  These are the automated reminders that are sent out when a system has detected you haven’t done something you’re supposed to, usually via e-mail although IM, SMS, RSS, and voice are options. NAGging is actually a good example of the use of communication technology to improve social interactions.

Let me explain where I’m coming from.  When I was a project manager, my most dreaded task was going around weekly to programmers and business clients to get their updates on percentage completion and dates. They were supposed to e-mail this to me each week, but of course they often didn’t.  So I became a nag, which soured my relations with people and turned me into a human focus point for their frustrations with the project.  If I had the ability to automate the tracking of the weekly entry of this information and have notifications come from a system rather than me, a nasty part of my interaction would be eliminated and I could focus on qualitative discussions about the project.  This is now easily possible with many different products or a little scripting.

Nowadays there are systems I work with that send out automated nags about not getting information entered and I appreciate them.  They are fair and sent to everyone that forgot without singling me out. I can’t take them personally, since they are not sent by a person.  Accordingly, they don’t impact my opinion of anyone (“geez, I’m only one day late and you’re bugging me?  How about when you were late with xxx …”), and they act as a handy reminder of something I may have forgotten.

NAGging has to be done with caution.  Sometimes the interaction that occurs when it’s done personally is valuable and forces a discussion that should take place – one that may be improperly avoided if left to a computer.  Also, we’ve all had the experience of being NAGged by systems that think we didn’t do something that we did.

But done properly, I think they are well worthwhile and easy to implement.  And in these times when it’s difficult to get funding for new software, it acts as a good example of using technology you already own to improve productivity by greasing the gears of communication between enterprise information workers.

Note: This is a cross-posting from the Collaboration and Content Strategies blog

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

