An Irrevocable, Perpetual, Non-exclusive, Transferable, Fully paid, Worldwide License to Kiss My A** …

February 9, 2009 at 1:22 pm | Posted in Fun, Legal, Web 2.0 | 71 Comments

I had a feeling of deja vu when reading Stowe Boyd’s posting (quoting Legal Andrew quoting) the Facebook terms:

By posting User Content to any part of the Site, you automatically grant, and you represent and warrant that you have the right to grant, to the Company an irrevocable, perpetual, non-exclusive, transferable, fully paid, worldwide license (with the right to sublicense) to use, copy, publicly perform, publicly display, reformat, translate, excerpt (in whole or in part) and distribute such User Content for any purpose on or in connection with the Site or the promotion thereof, to prepare derivative works of, or incorporate into other works, such User Content, and to grant and authorize sublicenses of the foregoing.

This seemed really familiar, so I did a search on this rather unique set of words and was amazed at how many places use the exact same phrase. Here’s just a few:

The statement is so one-sided in its application that I would be curious how many judges and juries have knocked it down over the years.  The shame is that this kind of phrase acts as a landmine – it can sit there quietly for years, but then explode one day if the company decides to reuse some IP that the original poster (who probably didn’t read the long legal disclaimers) didn’t even think could be reused.

One company probably used this phrase first and other lawyers loved it so much they all copied it.  In fact FindLaw publishes it as a sample to be used by others.  Great- spread the joy.  I don’t know who the original lawyer is that came up with that phrasing, but he can’t complain about all the copying since his client probably had an irrevocable, perpetual, non-exclusive, transferable, fully paid, worldwide license to use it.

71 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Google didn’t seem to care too much about privacy last year when it latched onto a common legal chiche to claim full license (just to promote its services) to anything people submit or even display on […]

  2. […] Royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable, non-exclusive, transferable licenses references back ten years to when Yahoo took over Geocities and this happened. […]

  3. I quite like reading through a post that can make men and women think.
    Also, thank you for allowing me to comment!

  4. You could definitely see your skills in the article you write.
    The world hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

  5. You really make it appear really easy along with your presentation however I to find this topic to be actually one thing which I think I might by no means understand.
    It kind of feels too complex and very huge for me. I’m taking a look forward in your next publish, I will attempt to get the dangle of it!

  6. My family members all the time say that I am killing my time here at net, but
    I know I am getting know-how all the time by reading such fastidious articles.

  7. Fine way of explaining, and fastidious article to obtain data concerning my presentation subject, which i am going to convey in
    college.

  8. Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

  9. They are all necessary but you need to know which foods to
    avoid to get rid of the bad fats and which
    foods to eat to get the good fats. Sleep is a significant
    aspect of a nutritious weight loss program. A healthy diet to lose weight should not just work by reducing the excess weight
    of the body.

  10. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for
    me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as
    you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

  11. Howdy, I think your website could be having browser compatibility problems.
    When I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine however,
    if opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Other than that, great site!

  12. This paragraph provides clear idea designed for the new viewers of blogging, that really
    how to do running a blog.

  13. Hi, i read your blog from time to time and i own
    a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam comments?

    If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any assistance is very much appreciated.

  14. Good day very cool site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Amazing ..
    I will bookmark your website and take the feeds also? I’m happy to search out a lot of useful info here within the post, we need develop more strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  15. I’ll immediately clutch your rss feed as I can not to find your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve
    any? Please permit me understand so that I may just subscribe.
    Thanks.

  16. Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  17. I don’t leave many remarks, however after reading a great deal of responses here An Irrevocable, Perpetual, Non-exclusive, Transferable, Fully paid, Worldwide License to Kiss My A** … | KnowledgeForward. I do have some questions for you if you do not mind. Could it be just me or do some of the remarks look like they are written by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing on other online sites, I’d like to keep
    up with you. Would you post a list of every one of all your
    shared pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  18. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?

    My website has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any ways to help prevent content from being ripped off? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  19. These are truly enormous ideas in about blogging.
    You have touched some pleasant factors here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  20. My partner and I stumbled over here different web address and thought I may
    as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking into your web page yet again.

  21. When some one searches for his necessary thing, therefore he/she desires to be available that in detail, thus
    that thing is maintained over here.

  22. Thanks in favor of sharing such a fastidious idea, piece of writing is pleasant,
    thats why i have read it fully

  23. In honor of Supervelma’s project, I thought I’d revisit
    some of these types are ruggedly individualistic and true Harley
    Davidson’s. Finest of your life. When vacationing in any number of ways throughout the year, summers and winters being mild plus rainfall being scarce.

  24. I really like what you guys are usually up too. This sort
    of clever work and exposure! Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.

  25. Excellent post! We will be linking to this particularly great post on
    our website. Keep up the great writing.

  26. This is a nutgrass plant which has been applied in India and China herbal medicines for thousand of
    decades. There are particular other sorts of spots or patchy skin brought on by trauma to the
    skin by means of insect bites, shaving, acne or repetitive stress to
    certain areas of skin. You may have to apply them several times or an extended period of
    time before you notice any significant results.

  27. Howdy! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  28. I am in fact happy to read this weblog posts which carries plenty of useful facts,
    thanks for providing such data.

  29. hello there and thank you for your info
    – I have certainly picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise a few technical issues using this site,
    as I experienced to reload the web site lots of times previous to I could get
    it to load correctly. I had been wondering
    if your web hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow
    loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in
    google and could damage your quality score if advertising and
    marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a lot more of your respective fascinating content. Make sure you update this again very soon.

  30. I just like the valuable information you supply for
    your articles. I will bookmark your blog and
    check once more right here frequently. I’m somewhat certain I’ll
    learn many new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the following!

  31. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thanks

  32. フルラ二子玉川

  33. ロンシャン流行

  34. ダンヒルヘイスト

  35. ダンヒル伊勢丹

  36. ダンヒル+ん

  37. ダンヒルコート

  38. ロンシャン+は

  39. ダンヒル財布カーボン

  40. ダンヒルマネークリップ

  41. ロンシャン+z

  42. iphoneケース

  43. ロンシャンメンズ

  44. フルラ東京

  45. ダンヒルたばこ通販

  46. ダンヒルキーケース

  47. ダンヒル+n

  48. フルラ店舗新宿

  49. ケイトスペードアウトレット

  50. ダンヒル+え

  51. フルラ+d

  52. バッグケイトスペード

  53. フルラ大好き

  54. フルラソファ

  55. サマンサ アウトレット サマンサ バッグ http://www.watchsvinterper.com/

  56. サマンサ ポーチ ラルフローレン 価格 http://www.polosoremoval.info/

  57. I have read so many articles or reviews regarding the blogger lovers however this paragraph is really
    a nice piece of writing, keep it up.

  58. I got this web page from my pal who told me regarding this web site and
    at the moment this time I am browsing this site
    and reading very informative content at this place.

  59. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this post! It is the
    little changes that produce the most important changes.

    Many thanks for sharing!

  60. What’s up Dear, are you actually visiting this web site on
    a regular basis, if so then you will definitely take pleasant knowledge.

  61. We’re a gaggle of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community.

    Your site provided us with helpful info to work on. You have done a formidable
    process and our entire neighborhood will likely be thankful to you.

  62. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I do not know who you are but definitely you are going
    to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  63. Thank you, I’ve recently been looking for information about this topic for
    a while and yours is the best I’ve came upon till now.
    However, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you certain about the source?

  64. Hi, i believe that i saw you visited my blog so i got here to go back the
    want?.I’m attempting to to find issues to improve my web site!I suppose
    its good enough to make use of a few of your ideas!!

  65. Heya i’m for the primary time here. I came across this board and I to find It truly
    helpful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to
    provide one thing back and help others like you helped me.

  66. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this write-up plus the rest of the site is also really good.

  67. I have been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of area .

    Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this site.
    Studying this info So i am glad to express that I have an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling
    I discovered exactly what I needed. I so much no
    doubt will make certain to do not forget this web site and
    provides it a look on a continuing basis.

  68. Pattaya Go Kart

    An Irrevocable, Perpetual, Non-exclusive, Transferable, Fully paid, Worldwide License to Kiss My A** … | KnowledgeForward

  69. Fabulous, what a website it is! This website provides valuable facts to us,
    keep it up.

  70. I think that is one of the most significant information for me.
    And i am happy studying your article. But wanna remark on few
    normal things, The site style is perfect, the articles is actually nice :
    D. Just right job, cheers

  71. I needed to write you that very little note to be able to thank you very much the moment again for these pretty solutions you have contributed above. It was pretty open-handed with you giving unhampered what many people would’ve made available for an e book to help with making some profit for themselves, specifically considering the fact that you could possibly have tried it in the event you desired. The suggestions additionally acted to become a easy way to fully grasp other individuals have the identical keenness like my personal own to know somewhat more with respect to this condition. I think there are many more pleasant situations ahead for many who start reading your site.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

