Productivity Future Vision

April 3, 2009 at 3:37 pm | Posted in Attention Management, collaboration, communication, Fun, Information Work, presence, social software, usability, User experience | 6 Comments

Peter O’Kelly’s blog pointed me to a Productivity Future Vision video from Microsoft Office Labs.  Highly recommended.

A few observations:

  • Airline seats in the future will be wider and have more legroom, even when you aren’t in first class (the seats on the plane don’t look like big, puffy, overwrought first class seats).  Furthermore, they will be clean and not have potato chips from the previous occupant smeared on them.
  • People will use their electronics calmly and be nice to each other.  People in the video seem to calmly make a few gestures, then relax and smile.  It seems that productivity expectations in the future have remained about constant with today rather than increasing along with the improvement in the capabilities of their applications.  The time saved through their more productive interfaces has been returned to the worker to allow them to stop and smell the roses instead of their employers and clients demanding more from them. This will allow people in the future to relax and use their new wondrous equipment in serene happiness.
  • Devices get thinner and more translucent.  But while you may think holding remotes that are as thin as a piece of glass and typing on hard, flat surfaces would be uncomfortable, they will actually be pleasantly ergonomic because people in the future will have dainty hands and features.  There seem to be no obese, elderly, overly tall, or overly short future workers.
  • There is no need for paper in the future, so working environments remain clean and clutter free.  Come to think of it, there seems to be no need for food, conference SWAG, books, printers, or desk lights either.  This explains the lack of garbage cans in the rooms shown in the video.
  • Office workers will not create content anymore, such as typing long streams of text or slaving over the graphics in the beautiful interfaces they use.  They simply do a few manipulations to content that already exists.  Presumably a new underclass of information workers (I’ll call them “information morlocks“) slave away underground crafting detailed content that the surface dwellers can then use through simple, intuitive, tap-exhale-and-smile interfaces.

OK, a few serious observations:

  • I like the thought leadership I see here.
  • The basis for some truly wonderous technology exists today, such as the machine translation, digital ink, mobile phone projectors, and OLED displays shown in the video.
  • Interfaces with touch and gestures can be much more natural than keyboards and mice.
  • Collaborative workspaces can be made more natural and incorporate many other useful technologies.

While innovating user interfaces and display devices have great gee-whiz factors, I’m really looking forward to much more mundane improvements in productivity.  To name just a few:

  • I want to see content that is created in easy-to-use tools that scale to the needs of the user and produce content that is easily componentized, tagged, reused, and reassembled. 
  • I want to see contextual meaning to be captured and guidance provided through integrated ontology and machine memory during authoring to enable better translation and localization.
  • I’d like to see powerful and consistent reviewing and commenting features across all productivity tools that can discover implicit collaborative authoring processes through observation. 
  • I’d like to see rich presence information that improves productivity by inserting routing and channel switching to messages that determine the most appropriate way to deliver a message while taking both sender’s and receiver’s contextual preferences into account.
  • I’d like to see operating systems and productivity applications working together to create more interruptable environments that fit the time sliced, interruptable nature of the workplace. They would allow better bookmarking that can save retrieve the exact state of applications and their relations to each other, easing the burden of remembering what activities were in motion during interruptions and reducing time to resuming work.  Snapshots of window layouts and application states would allow easy, instantaneous switching between multiple workstreams.
  • I’d like to see wearable electronics that utilize personal rich presence, mobile technology, and social networking profiles to alert people to others in their vicinity that share interests (or other programmable searches) and are open to serendipitous conversation.

I might be waiting a while …

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] It seems I also referred to “The Time Machine” in a recent blog posting. I described an underclass of workers that toils in oppressive conditions to enable a seemingly […]

  2. Some genuinely excellent info , Sword lily I found this.
    “Leaders must encourage their organizations to dance to forms of music yet to be heard.” by Warren Bennis.

  3. Hey Your current website loads up literally slow in my opinion, I don’t know who’s problem is that on the other hand youtube opens up fairly good.

    Nevertheless, Thank you for placing an extraordinarily impressive blog post.
    I’m guessing it has become useful to lots of people who came at this point.
    This one is without a doubt terrific what you actually have concluded in this article and wish to see more posts from
    you. I already have you saved to my bookmarks to check blogs you publish.

  4. Hi there Twitter operates good yet your site is loading steadily which had taken around
    one minute to finally load, I’m not sure if it is my personal problem or perhaps your web site problems.
    Anyways, I appreciate you for publishing such type of amazing blog post.
    I’m sure it really has been extremely helpful to visitor who
    actually click here. I really hope I’ll be able to find a lot more awesome stuff and I should really complement you simply by telling you have done wonderful job.
    I ‘ve got you saved to bookmarks to check out blog you post.

  5. Hi there other internet sites operates perfectly
    yet your site is running steadily which actually had taken about a few minutes to actually load, I am not sure
    if it’s my issue or maybe your site problem. Well, Thank you for creating an incredibly excellent blog post.
    I’m assuming this has already been useful to plenty
    of people who came in this article. I hope I’ll be able to find a lot more awesome things and I should flatter you by saying you’ve
    done wonderful writing. Soon after viewing your content,
    I have book marked your web blog.

  6. Hello there Your main website starts up really slow to me, I not really
    know who’s issue is that on the other hand youtube starts fairly immediate.

    Nevertheless, Thank you for publishing an extraordinarily impressive articles.
    I think this has already been extremely useful to user who seem to click
    here. I ought to state that you actually have done brilliant work with this and also hope to see further wonderful content from
    you. To get additional knowledge from articles you write-up,
    I have saved to bookmarks this web page.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

