Design Your Own Conference

April 23, 2009 at 3:07 pm | Posted in Analyst biz, Fun | Leave a comment

I just blogged the other day about vendor conferences.  While it was written after going to a an IBM Lotusphere event, the issue was a more general one about whether conferences should preach to the converted or try to win over new converts.  There are actually many such decisions that need to be made when a vendor (or analyst firm or independent conference committee) designs a conference. 

So, I decided to put together a list of the tradeoffs that need to be decided.  There’s no right and wrong here. Vendors have to be profitable and want to get their message across, and attendees need to watch expenses but want to learn in an enjoyable atmosphere.

I’ve attached a handy “design your own conference!” guide that includes my default positions for where I’d put the sliders if I’m attending a vendor conference.  I go to a lot of different conferences as attendee and speaker so my view may be skewed a bit.  Let me know what you think!

 

Design your own conference

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

