Free SharePoint Governance Poster

October 24, 2009 at 3:07 pm | Posted in Governance, Microsoft SharePoint | 3 Comments

I just got back from Vegas where I presented on what SharePoint governance is (and isn’t) and how to create a SharePoint statement of governance.  If you went to the conference, your logon will grant you access to the video in a few days I’m told.  I’m not sure if or how it will be available to non-attendees.

For those who have seen/heard me present on governance before at one of our workshops or client briefings, there are a few enhancements I’ve made to my materials.  They are:

1. Clarifying that my definition is a domain-specific definition, not a dictionary definition.  I believe it tracks closely to what many have written about IT governance and is meant to provide guidance, not merely say “the act of controlling people.” or something like that.

2. The relation of the statement of governance to other documents that exist such as the maintenance manual, standards listings, and IT governance.  Not just drawing lines between them, but showing how they relate and enhance each other. 

3. The difference between governance and management (yes, there is a difference – and I didn’t make this one up!)

4. Announcement that my poster on “Creating a SharePoint Statement of Governance” is now free from the Burton Group website.  Go to Free Resources and look for the link to the poster.  Free registration is required.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hmm I need to register at Burton Group to get the SharePoint governance poster am I right? Or did I miss it?

  2. Link is not longer working. Could you please fix?

  3. Very good article. I’m experiencing a few of these issues as well..
    https://www.facebook.com/KingsmanTheSecretService2015Best


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

